Sivali Meditation Centre
Chiang Mai, Thailand
  Home      Chapter I     Chapter II     Chapter III     Chapter IV     Chapter V     Chapter VI     About us     Link



Chapter IV

The Nature of your Mind


          Meditation is only a major tool to develope a mind, to be able to understand something that it is complicated to explain, of which it is called the truth of life. There are another important part of all practice goals toward 'Wisdom'. There are more interested things on this world than what we can hear, can see or can touch.

          The Prince Sitthattha Gautama, an Indian prince became known as Buddha. The Buddha was a common name for the great man who found the truth of life by himself and was able to teach people. His teaching spreaded all over Asia and around the world now. The word 'Buddha' means 'Awaken Person'.  

    The Buddha explained that a person consisted of 5 parts called Five Khandha;

1.    Body

2.    Feeling

3.    Memory

4.    Mental formations, we also call imagination

5.    Conciousness & Awareness

          These two parts; a body and a mind made a person. In No. 1 was a body and No.2,3,4 and 5 were parts of the mind. When you meditate, you will have experience more than just an incredible good feeling. You also will understand more of the true nature of life, and that is the main key for how to live well balance in these confused world.

           What you are going to learn next, had been taught and practised since BC. 623 up to now. The Thai Theravada Forest Monastery Way is a way of meditation practice, strictly based on the original Buddha's teaching and practising the same as the Buddha's time.

          There are many different branches out in Buddhism. One of the well known branch called Maha Nigaya. The 'Maha Nigaya' word meaned a Big Vehicle. Therefore the teaching and practising has some changes to fit their people and their local culture in the area. Then you will not get confused of the differences in the Buddha's teaching.

          An aim of meditation is; to develop the mind. The nature of the mind used to be free from control. It has more power and you are dragged around sometime. Remind yourself whenever you come across any difficulty in your practice, 'Rome was not built in a day'.

          Now part of the sitting & walking meditation, while you are not meditating, you are always aware of your thoughts. You always know at this moment, you are thinking of the part or anything you knew from your experince, your education, read or heard from media, etc. All of those are a memory part of the mind. You will classify it as a memory.

          Any thought of which has not known, has not yet happened or may not happen at all, you will classify it as an Imagination part of your mind. The past you are not able to change them anyway, the future has not yet happened. So you will stay at this present moment, and think of the word 'Bud-Dho'. The word Bud-Dho will help keeping your mind stay and to be free from all unnecessary worrys.You will stay at your present of this moment and aware of your action, together with the word 'Bud-Dho'.

          This practice will improve your awareness, of which it supports your sitting & walking meditation. As well as it will improve your basic ability of memory and your creative part. When you need to use them in your daily life.

          Now you are clear that you can join any course with the understanding that every one is individual, unique and take his/her time different to develope his/her own mind and understand. We, all have the same interest and we can share our experiences. Even you can also practise on your own away from other people and, at the same time practise your awareness in your everyday's life. You are aware of your every single movement from waking up in the morning, until going to bed again at night. You will practise this way.

Steps to Peacefulness

       Focus on every single breath in and out with the word Bud-Dho, and progress to the first level called the first Jhana. The First Jhana consits of thought, thinking, joy, happiness which come from peace and steady mind.

When thought and thinking have stopped, progess to the Second Jhana. Joyfulness fills the mind and deep concentration occurs, with no thought and no thinking, and with only joy and happiness, which come from concentration.

When the joy fades, a sense of neutrality remains, with both awareness and consciousness producing a physical sensations of pleasure, and so progress to the Third Jhana.

With the abandonment of pleasure and displeasure, with the disappearance of satisfaction and dissatisfaction, progress to the Fourth Jhana, where there is no satisfaction or dissatisfaction, where there is neutrality and indifference, and there is only awareness, which is the pure nature of the mind.

©  2000-2010 All rights reserved. Next Page